Saturday, December 17, 2011

How exactly is Lupe Fiasco a "conscious" rapper?

I always thought of the guy as just a rapper, no labels attached...but apparently, he's wideheld on Y!A as a "conscious" rapper, which puzzles me..iono, is that the way it works now? anybody who isn't talkin about sellin 100 kilos, or poppin champagne on a b*tch is labeled a "conscious" rapper. or are we just picking and choosing certain songs where an artists seems to be socially aware, or enhanced focus on "positive" lyrics..that being the case, i guess we could call Lil Wayne a 'bi-conscious' rapper for makin that Georgia Bush track? maybe its just because i personally dont like the term "conscious" for rappers because at any given time any rapper could spit what some of u would define as "conscious" lyrics. anways, what's your opinion on Lupe Fiasco being a "conscious" rapper? do you agree with that label, or do you think he should/could remain cl-less? and if you have your own definition for a "conscious" rapper, go into some detail, or if you dont like the label, explain y

No comments:

Post a Comment